Menu
What's On

A Month of Sundays

by Bob Larbey


A comedy about the difficulties inherent in growing old.


1985 Winner of the Evening Standard award for Best New Comedy.


Cooper, who has gone into a nursing home rather than become a burden on his family, flirts valiantly with the female staff, banters with the other old folks and keeps a close check on his "record of physical deteriorations”! To the painful ritual of Sunday family visits and empty condescension, Cooper and his friend Aylott reply with humour and wit, aware that life can only be endured if treated as a comedy.


A Month of Sundays is Bob Larbey's first stage play, although he is well known for writing many television series such as The Good Life, Please Sir, Get Some In and Ever Decreasing Circles.

Book Tickets

Thursday 12 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Friday 13 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Saturday 14 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Monday 16 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Tuesday 17 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Wednesday 18 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Thursday 19 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Friday 20 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
Saturday 21 Oct 20177:30pm Book Now
A Month of Sundays

Dick Whittington and his Cat

Join us as our hero Dick Whittington and his faithful feline friend Tommy the Cat square off against the evil King Rat, who wants nothing more than to spread his evil all over London.

But it's not all doom and gloom; Alice Fitzwarren, Idle Jack and, of course, pantomime Sarah the Cook will be on hand to add magic, mirth and mayhem to the proceedings.

Will Dick defeat King Rat and save the day? Will Dick and Alice live happily ever after? Will Sarah the Cook and Idle Jack get in the way somehow?

Well, you'll have to join us at Grove Park Theatre's 37th Annual Pantomime to find out. We pride ourselves in offering a fantastic night for all the family aged 5 to 95.

Expect songs, slapstick and sparkle at Wrexham’s favourite family pantomime

Please NOTE

  • ALL Children MUST have their own seat
  • The Pantomime may not be suitable for children under 3 years old
  • Book Tickets

    Friday 1 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now (Sold Out)
    Saturday 2 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 2 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Sunday 3 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Sunday 3 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 6 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Thursday 7 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Friday 8 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 9 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 9 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Sunday 10 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Sunday 10 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 13 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Thursday 14 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Friday 15 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 16 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 16 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Sunday 17 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Sunday 17 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 20 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Thursday 21 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Friday 22 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 23 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 23 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Sunday 24 Dec 20174:00pm Book Now (Sold Out)
    Wednesday 27 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Thursday 28 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Friday 29 Dec 20177:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 30 Dec 20171:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 30 Dec 20175:30pm Book Now
    Dick Whittington and his Cat

    When the Wind Blows

    by Raymond Briggs


    When the Wind Blows is an offbeat version of the famous English anti-nuclear cartoon parable, first published as a graphic novel and later adapted into a film. Jim and Hilda Bloggs live in peaceful retirement in the countryside when they hear that a nuclear strike is headed their way. Armed with government leaflets, and with the solid cheerfulness they felt during the blitz, they construct an indoor refuge out of doors and cushions. Trusting in the powers that be, they emerge after the bombing and wait for government assistance.


    Jim's optimistic outlook and unshakeable belief that the government knows what's best and that it has the situation under full control is in direct contrast with Hilda's attempts to carry on life as normal. Both reminisce about how pleasant a time they both had as adolescents during the good old days of the Second World War, which provides us with some gentle nostalgia, charm and comedy. They don’t know anything about radioactive fallout and believe that what you can’t see can’t hurt you.


    From the author of such loved and timeless stories such as The Snowman and Father Christmas Raymond Briggs manages to find warmth and even humour in the tale of a nuclear strike. It is an incredibly moving production that is also extremely entertaining.

    Book Tickets

    Thursday 1 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 2 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 3 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Monday 5 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Tuesday 6 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 7 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Thursday 8 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 9 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 10 Feb 20187:30pm Book Now
    When the Wind Blows

    Whose Wives Are They Anyway

    by Michael Parker


    “A veritable laugh riot” - The Boca Raton News


    The Ashley Maureen Cosmetics Company has been sold and two of its vice presidents, David McGrachen and John Baker, have planned a weekend off before the new C.E.O. arrives on Monday. With their wives safely off on a shopping spree in New York City, they check into The Oakfield Golf and Country Club intending to "golf their brains out." They unexpectedly encounter their new boss, Ms. Hutchison, and she insists on meeting the wives, commenting blithely "no one who went golfing for a weekend without his wife would ever work for me."


    Consequently, they have to produce wives. John somehow manages to persuade the sexy hotel receptionist to play the role of his wife, which leaves John as the only person left to pretend to be David’s wife! In true farce style, everything starts to go wrong as John moves in and out of bedrooms, changing clothes and sexes at a frantic pace. As alcohol is added into the mix, the phone system dies and things take a turn for the worse when the real wives turn up!


    True slapstick fun from English actor-writer Michael Parker, who moved to the United States and noted that many of the traditional British farces didn’t quite translate properly across the Atlantic. He decided to write a ‘proper’ modern British farce that would have the verbal, visual and “naughty but nice” humour to appeal to the masses.

    Book Tickets

    Thursday 15 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 16 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 17 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Monday 19 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Tuesday 20 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 21 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Thursday 22 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 23 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 24 Mar 20187:30pm Book Now
    Whose Wives Are They Anyway

    Space Quest Galaxy Wars

    A Youth Theatre Production


    Space Quest Galaxy Wars: Episode IX: The Wrath of the Next Generation Awakens (pt. 7) is a hilarious parody of all things science fiction.  However, you don’t need to know your Klingons from your Jedis or your Time Lords from your Star-Lords – this will be fun for all the family!


    Grove Park’s Youth Theatre has gone from strength to strength with the standard of their recent shows and this play, which has been written especially for this group, will feature spectacular jokes, amazing special effects and maybe even a song or two!


    Join us on board our spectacular space ship as we voyage through the galaxies meeting weird and wonderful aliens, far-out and fantastical planets and a crew who are as inept as they are intrepid.


    Space: the final frontier. Our mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before – and to have a good laugh doing it!

    Book Tickets

    Thursday 12 Apr 20187:00pm Book Now
    Friday 13 Apr 20187:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 14 Apr 20182:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 14 Apr 20187:00pm Book Now
    Space Quest Galaxy Wars

    Curtain Up

    by Peter Quilter


    "A mad play, full of dynamism, momentum, funny dialogue and great surprises...


    …Well worth seeing - you can be assured of great entertainment" - Topzine magazine


    Based on the author's earlier play Respecting Your Piers, Curtain Up! is the hilarious story of five women who inherit equal shares in a dilapidated theatre and plan to bring it back to life again. They try various fund-raising schemes but their most ambitious is to hold a concert featuring local talent and a world-famous star who agrees to appear for no fee! However, their plans go awry and it's a race to keep their audience from guessing the truth of the matter.


    Another fantastic and hilarious play with an all-female cast from the author of Just The Ticket which has been performed hundreds of times around the world!

    Book Tickets

    Thursday 17 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 18 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 19 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Monday 21 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Tuesday 22 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 23 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Thursday 24 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 25 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 26 May 20187:30pm Book Now
    Curtain Up

    chatroom

    A Youth Theatre Production


    by Enda Walsh


    “One of the most thrillingly enjoyable evenings I’ve had in the theatre” - Sunday Times.


    “Punchy, provocative” The Independent.


    Enda Walsh's Chatroom is a play about manipulation, cyberbullying and adolescent insecurity. It was first performed as part of the 2005 National Theatre Connections season, an annual festival of new plays for youth theatres and schools.


    The play's action takes place in a staged representation of the virtual space of an internet chatroom. A group of bored and restless teenagers – William, Jack, Eva, Emily and Laura – spend their time deconstructing children’s literature and the messages in modern pop music. But when a new member, Jim, joins to share his depression and thoughts of suicide, the conversation takes a dark turn. The group is torn between those who want to help and those who see this as a chance to create a martyr for the teenage population.


    This is a chance for our Youth Theatre to get their teeth into some modern, gritty and thought-provoking drama, exploring how technology impacts the lives of various teenagers as they grow up in today’s society.

    Book Tickets

    Friday 1 Jun 20187:00pm Book Now
    Saturday 2 Jun 20187:00pm Book Now
    chatroom

    'Allo 'Allo

    by Jeremy Lloyd and David Croft


    The British TV Sitcom classic comes to the stage


    "Listen very carefully, I will say this only once - you will revel in the latest stage production of the TV cult comedy classic 'Allo 'Allo! You won't be able to help yourselves." - The Stage


    Based on the hugely successful British television series that ran for seven seasons, this uproarious comedy relates the adventures of a hapless cafe owner, Rene, in occupied France. You can see all of your favorite TV characters in the flesh, including Rene's tone-deaf wife Edith, Major-General von Klinkerhoffen and the Gestapo officer Herr Flick!


    Rene and his wife have stashed a priceless portrait stolen by the Nazis in a sausage in their cellar, where two British airmen are also hiding until the Resistance can repatriate them. Communications with London using the wireless that is disguised as a cockatoo add to the many embarrassments this intrepid proprietor endures in the company of his patrons. News that the Fuhrer is scheduled to visit the town inspires tricksters disguised as Hitler to frequent the cafe. Meanwhile Rene summons all the wit he can muster to save his cafe and his life.

    Book Tickets

    Thursday 5 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 6 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 7 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Monday 9 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Tuesday 10 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Wednesday 11 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Thursday 12 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Friday 13 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    Saturday 14 Jul 20187:30pm Book Now
    'Allo 'Allo